A Miracle…. Lili, my Airedale Terrier and Angels…

She came into my life unexpectedly.  At a time when I had two pets, one old Dachshund and one young male Airedale Terrier – Max, who was a handful.

A lovely dog, with a twinkle in his eye, boundless energy, and for ever up to mischief.  If he was not digging holes in my garden when I was at work – the minute I got home all he wanted to do was play ball – me throwing the ball, and he running to fetch it!

A phone call changed it all.  Heidi, my cousin, from the farm, who was breeding Airedale Terriers.   “Judi, my Airedale has ten pups.  I want you to have one of them – for I know you will love her, give her a good home!  As this is her first litter, I want to know that the pups all get good, caring homes.”

No matter how much I protested, that two dogs were already a handful, my protests fell on deaf ears! -(and mindful of my father – because I have such a great love for animalsand they for me – always told me, never to end up marrying a farmer, for I would end up with a Zoo!  That I grew up in one never crossed his mind! We had the proverbial zoo: – There were six of us, and our huge yard was filled  to the brim – animals of all shapes and sizes – from snakes (my brothers), to iguanas, to monkeys, pigs, sheep, cattle, doves, chickens, tame hadidah’s – it never ended!)

(My parents though were adamant  – they did not mind the pets, but we had to take responsibility for their care – feeding them, caring for them – and making sure they were happy!   My father, though had a point – whenever I was anywhere I wanted baby lions, elephant, antelope, and anything on four legs!  I had a Great Dane and two Dachshund – the latter were my dolls – I dressed them in my doll’s clothes and put them in my pram.  Invariably people would asked to look at my dolls – only to find two Dachshund dressed in frilly clothes looking up at them!)

Heidi was adamant – eventually I relented, if I could get a female.  Heidi phoned and said that she had found the perfect one for me – a quiet, and gentle pup – who would be the opposite of Max.  So off I went to the farm, and after playing with all 10 pups on the lawn, I had Lili (I called her after one of my favourite flowers, the lily, for she reminded my of them), on the seat beside me.  When I got home, Max immediately adopted her, as if she belonged to him!

I lost my Dachshund, Fritz, shortly afterwards, so Lili proved to be a blessing in disguise.  Two years later, I lost Max too – to a cancerous growth on the brain, and so another dachshund came into my life, with the name of Petzi -after a German cartoon character who always got herself into trouble -a more apt name for this one could not be found!

 A few weeks ago, after making a life-changing decision, to follow the call of my soul – I was asked by my brother, to move to the city.  I am by nature, not a city person.  I love the open skies, space, mountains, lots of greenery, water, and watching sunrises and sunsets in peace and quiet.

After some pressure by my siblings, who all ended up living in the city, I decided to take the plunge.  So, there I was, trying to get used to living in the city again, trying to get my bearings, (luckily I have a finely tuned sense of direction) and the endless traffic – it has not been easy!

When I thus discovered, after accepting a dinner invitation, that my beloved Lili, had disappeared, I was devastated.   All I could think about is my poor pet, trying to find her way back in this vast city – and my prayers went up, that whatever happened, that she would not have to suffer in any way – especially being hit by a car, or train.

I spent half the night looking for her, only to be told the next morning, that someone, who lived on the property, had opened the remote-controlled gate and she had slipped past them.  The next door neighbour confirmed this saying that they had run after these people and begged them to follow the dog – which they did not bother to do – and neither had alerted any other person, who could have informed me.

So, the rest of that Saturday, I searched high and low for my dog.  I phonedthe S.P.C.A. and all the animal clinics in the area to alert them to my missing dog.  Yet after two days, I sat down and worked my way through all of this – and was just grateful that she had given me so much love and devotion allher life.  She was there in those dark nights of the soul, when I had no-whereelse to turn to, and literally cried into her coat.  She would cuddle up asclose to me as she could, and I always felt the healing energy coming from her.

My best friend always said that Lili had such a beautiful aura about her – that she was sure that in her next life she would come back as a person!

I sat down and worked through the Demartini Breakthrough Experience Method, and eventually made piece with all of it…. Which was a great help and blessing to me – I had tears of gratitude in my eyes at the end -it took me hours, but it helped!

I went on with my life as best I could.  Within this time I was blessed by a lot of inspired writing – almost as a compensation for losing her.  My connection to the Divine Source, my inner SEEING, increased to such an extend, that I was literally spanning dimensions – and hardly could keep myself grounded. I had amazing visions – and I had insight into quantum physics and the workings of Creation, such as I had never experienced before.

Thus it came about that I was helping my brother with extra work (he owns his own business) – my sister-in-law having breast cancer and going for chemotherapy – the workload was increasing considerably – so I jumped in to help with the administrative work.

My phone rang, and as I was in the middle of typing a financial report on the computer I was distracted.   To my utter amazement it was the S.P.C.A. -the Police’s dog unit had delivered a Airedale Terrier to them that exactly matched my dog’s description!  Could I please come as soon as possible to identify her, as she needed treatment.

I was in tears!  How I ever got through the heavy traffic, and onto roads in the city that I did not know – that was a miracle in itself!  I just prayed for guidance and asked for help driving through tears!  I got there inone piece – it was quite a distance from my brother’s home!

I was greeted by one of the attendants in charge of the animal hospital at the S.P.C.A. clinic.  She took me to the hospital clinic – and there huddled in a corner – a mere shadow of the lovely dog I knew – was my Lili!

I crawled into the cage on all fours – never-mind my smart outfit – and I took her face in my hands.  At first she whimpered – then both of us were crying!  She let out a howl – and there we were – in tears and the attendant as well!

When I got to the counter, I could barely fill in the release forms through my tears, and the attendants at the desk were all sniffing as well – telling me that it was very rare to find someone who loved animals so much – as they so often see the dark side of human beings’ relationship and treatment of animals.  They told me that a lot of people, when their animals werefound, never bothered to come and fetch them!

The nurse then came and told me that Lili’s front leg had been broken – that she had probably been hit by a car.  The doctor at the S.P.C.A. clinic could fix the leg by putting steel braces on the outside of the leg.  Yet, there was ONE veterinary doctor in the whole of Pretoria who could help here, by placing a plague INSIDE her leg – so she would then never have trouble walking again.

So I had a choice – actually I had none!   When I thought of how much unconditional love and devotion this dog had given me – how could I desert her in her hour of need?

This time the nurse had tears in her eyes – and even the attendant who helped me to put Lili into the back-seat of my car.

By this time I was in a state.  Now I had to make my way to the other side of the city AGAIN – and to another destination I had never been to.I called in my helpers again.   One hand on the steering wheel, the other patting Lili – who now that she had found me, was crying -and navigating my way through heavy traffic and looking for road signs!

After, what seemed like ages, I finally got to the animal hospital -and THIS IS WHERE THE MIRACLE REALLY STARTS:

When I got into the surgery, it turned out the this doctor was GERMAN and had a heart of gold!   He immediately wanted to see Lili, and spoke to her in German!  She took an immediate liking to him – as I did – and I knew she would be in good hands!  When he took me into his surgery and the kennels, I saw the place was spotless and had the very best equipment.

What was even MORE amazing is, that his assistant, was BORN INthe town I had just COME FROM AND WOULD BE RETURNING THERE, ONCE SHE HAD QUALIFIED AS A VET!   She came from a family that I knew well!   So, there she was, so thrilled to be able to help someone from her home town – and she immediately took care of Lili as if it were her own!

I left Lili there to be operated on later that same day, and knew that she would be allright – although my it took a lot of convincing to leaveher – after I had just found her again!

That night I recorded all in my diary as a miracle!  I had expected to never see her again – and there she was – in a sorry state – but alive!!!!

When I went to fetch her the next afternoon, I was surprised.  MORE MIRACLES: The doctor had come down with his original quote by more than R1000-00! When I produced Lili’s medical record, he told me THAT THE VET WHOHAD TREATED HER SINCE BEING A PUPPY, AND WHOSE RECORD THATWAS, HAD VISITED HIS HOSPITAL THE SAME AFTERNOON THAT LILI HAD BEEN OPERATED ON – TO SEE HIS HOSPITAL AND THE EQUIPMENTHE USED – AND HAD WITNESSED THE OPERATION.

WITH HIM WAS AN OLD FRIEND, AND HIS EX-PARTNER, ANOTHER VET, AND MY COUSIN, WHO HAD EMIGRATED TO ENGLAND – BUT HAD JUST RETURNED TO S.A.TO OPEN HIS OWN PRACTICE IN PRETORIA! THEY BOTH ASSISTED WITH THE OPERATION! Both of them knew me well – and helped with Lili!

My head was spinning!  Here I was witnessing something so AMAZING, that it boggled my mind!

That the Divine Source was looking after Lili and me – in such a way, that not only was she REFERRED to the ONLY doctor who could HELP her – but THE SAME DOCTOR, would HAVE HER EX-DOCTOR, WHOM SHE LOVED AND TRUSTED WITH HIM IN THE THEATER, PLUS A NURSE WHO CAME FROM THE SAME TOWN AS WE HAD JUST COME FROM in a huge city, such as this,  this spanned all dimensions of TIME AND SPACE!!!!!

I took her home, a walking (yet limping slightly) on all fours, Lili, and she is busy recovering remarkably!

As I write this, tears of wonder and gratitude are running down my cheeks – and I know that whatever happens – wherever life leads us – we will always be watched over and cared for byunseen forces  and a DIVINE SOURCE that is beyond comprehension:

ALL LOVE, LIGHT, HEALING, WISDOM, TRUTH, BOUNTIFUL BEINGNESS!

(Written in 2008, and will be published in a British Book on Animal Angels and Miracles via Diana Cooper)

 

 

Leave a Reply

